博物館歷史

由於缺乏相關歷史檔案,目前存放於 HKBM 內的標本來源仍然有待確認。第一批標本估計是由來自世界各地的前香港大學教授和學生所收集的,再被集合起來成為研究各生物學範疇(例如解剖學、進化、動物多樣性等)的主要材料,以及被用作動物學(後為生態學及生物多樣性學)主修科的教材。雖然我們暫時並沒有發現任何有關成立標本庫的動機和捐贈者的紀錄,但可以肯定的是,全賴他們的功勞,我們今天才能在香港欣賞到這些獨特的收藏品。當中最古老的標本更可以追溯到 1920 年代初。

 

1998年,生物科學學院遷移至現址,當時大部分標本皆被存放在嘉道理生物科學大樓二樓南翼。其他則被分散於不同房間,保存狀況各異,但都幾乎沒有被妥善管理。多年來,這批收藏品除了被用作教材之外,一直處於休眠狀態……

 

到了2014 年,Benoit Guénard 博士加入香港大學擔任助理教授,自發管理這批藏品,又積極開發它們在教育、研究的角色,以及強化標本的貯存工作。他將原本分散的標本收集到同一位置,然後把它們重新排列和展示。同時,他與港大理學院生物科學學院內的同事(包括 Yvonne Sadovy 教授和 侯智恒博士等)一起發展合作項目。在生物科學學院的支持下,我們購置了新的陳列櫃來擴展藏品空間。隨後幾年,我們舉辦了幾個項目和工作坊,有幸獲得各界的資助和捐贈,讓我們得以發展庫藏、招聘員工和購買新設備。當中的支持團體包括漁農自然護理署龍虎山環境教育中心Globe Creative、新世界發展(K11 Musea Nature Discovery Park)、嘉道理農場暨植物園香港大學美術博物館。 

 

幾年間,原本塵封已久的標本已煥然一新。在幾位熱心支持者的捐助下,HKBM更成為本地一個嶄新的機構。未來數月,HKBM 的新團隊將不懈努力,為香港及亞洲那奇妙且迷人的生物多樣性提供獨特的虛擬和親身教育體驗。快加入我們這個扣人心弦的旅程,探索和保護我們的生物遺產!

THE HISTORY

The origin of the collection now hosted within the HKBM remains at this point unclear as no archives appear to be available. Most likely, the first specimens were collected by former professorial staff and students of the University of Hong Kong within various parts of the world and put together to serve as primary material for the study of various disciplines of biology (e.g. anatomy, evolution, zoological diversity…) as well as teaching material for students majoring in the Zoology and later in the Ecology and Biodiversity majors. Unfortunately, at this point no records have been found to indicate whose initiative and contributors helped in the creation of this unique collection within Hong Kong, with some of its oldest specimens dating from the early 1920’s. 

 

In 1998, when the School of Biological Sciences moved to its current location, most of the collection was then placed on the south wing of the second floor of the Kadoorie Biological Sciences Building, where it still resides today. Other specimens, however, were scattered in different rooms and in different conditions of preservation, with little or no indications of curation taken. For years, the collection remained thus dormant and mainly used for teaching purposes…

 

In 2014, after joining HKU then as an Assistant Professor, Dr. Benoit Guénard, volunteered to curate the existing collection and to develop it to serve various roles in education, research and to revitalize the depository of specimen functions that characterize museums. He then consolidated the collection by gathering the various scattered specimens into a single location, started reorganizing the collection and to develop collaborations with colleagues within the School of Biological Sciences, including Prof. Yvonne Sadovy and Dr. Billy Hau, and beyond. First supported by the School of Biological Sciences, the Faculty of Science of HKU, the purchase of new cabinets allowed the expansion of the existing collection. In the following years, several projects and workshops, collaborations, grants and donations from the

Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, the Lung Fu Shan Environmental Education Centre, Globe Creative, New World Development (Nature Discovery Park in K11 Musea), the Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden and the University Museum and Art Gallery of HKU supported the development of the collection, the recruitment of staff and the purchase of new infrastructures.

 

Over the past few years, a dusty set of specimens has been turned into a rejuvenated collection, enriched by the contributions from several donors to make the Hong Kong Biodiversity Museum a novel institution within Hong Kong. In the coming months, the new team of the HKBM will work tirelessly to provide a unique experience, both virtually and in person, into the incredible and fascinating biodiversity of Hong Kong and Asia. Come and join us in this incredible journey to explore and protect our biological heritage.