博物館簡介

香港生物多樣性博物館 (簡稱「HKBM」) 是香港首個以生物多樣性為主題的博物館。本館致力成為一個自然歷史博物館,推廣環境教育和欣賞生物多樣性,促進保護這人類自然遺產,並支持與生物多樣性相關的科學研究。我們的工作在了解和保護本地以至亞洲地區生物多樣性方面發揮著至關重要的作用。這在香港政府的《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》以及國際《愛知生物多樣性目標》的框架下尤其明顯。

 

基於地理位置、地形和氣候等有利因素,香港的植物、真菌和動物種類繁多,估計目前有超過 30,000種。HKBM 收藏了超過 15,000 個標本,是全港最大、最全面的生物多樣性標本庫。不幸的是,在 1920 年代至 70 年代所收集的標本中,部分物種現時已被視為受威脅,因此是留傳給後代的重要遺產。除了保存這些珍貴的標本以便研究和向公眾展示之外,我們的工作還包括擴展現有的生物標本庫,從而更好地反映我們目前對本地及區域生物多樣性的了解。

 

HKBM目前由香港大學生物科學學院的專家團隊管理,同時亦得到多位科學家和團體的支持。在香港政府環境及自然保育基金 (EE&CA No. 2211) 的資助下,我們的團隊現正努力發展及管理HKBM。

THE MUSEUM

The Hong Kong Biodiversity Museum (HKBM) is the first museum in Hong Kong that is dedicated to biodiversity. It strives to be a natural history museum promoting environmental education and appreciation of biodiversity, fostering its preservation as a part of mankind’s natural heritage and by supporting scientific research on biodiversity. The role of the HKBM is crucial for the understanding and conservation of local and regional biodiversity, especially under the framework of the Biodiversity Strategic Action Plan by the HKSAR government and the Aichi Biodiversity Targets globally.

 

Due to the geographical location, topography and climate, Hong Kong presents an astonishing diversity of plants, fungi and animals, with an estimate of more than 30,000 species. With over 10,000 specimens, the HKBM hosts the largest and most comprehensive biodiversity collection within Hong Kong. Several of the species present, collected from the 1920’s to 70’s, are unfortunately now considered as threatened and thus represent an important heritage to pass on to the future generations. In addition to preserving these valuable specimens so they can be studied and presented to the public, our work also includes the expansion of this biobank to better reflect our current knowledge about local and regional biodiversity. . 

 

The HKBM is currently managed by a team of experts from the School of Biological Sciences at The University of Hong Kong, together with the support from various scientists and partners. Thanks to the funding support from the Environment and Conservation Fund (EE&CA No. 2211), from the Hong Kong Government, the team is now working hard on the development and curation of the Hong Kong Biodiversity Museum.